Support LD 1407



The Maine Legislature will be returning for a Special Session and we need theAppropriations Committee members to pass LD 1407. This piece of legislation improves the one-size-fits-all application of step therapy protocols, and provides certain exceptions. LD1407 does not prohibit insurers from using step therapy or require insurers to cover any specific medication, instead it allows patients to avoid step therapy under the appropriate circumstances.

Action: Call committee members and send an email in support of LD 1407. 

Contact The Appropriations Committee

 

Joint Standing Committee on Appropriations and Financial Affairs

Senator James M. Hamper (R-Oxford), Chair

(207) 539-4586

James.Hamper@legislature.maine.gov

 

Senator Roger J. Katz (R-Kennebec)

(207) 485-2394

Roger.Katz@legislature.maine.gov

 

Senator Catherine E. Breen (D-Cumberland)

(207) 329 - 6142

cathy.breen@legislature.maine.gov

 

Representative Drew Gattine (D-Westbrook), Chair

(207) 409-3477

Drew.Gattine@legislature.maine.gov

 

Representative John L. Martin (D-Eagle Lake)

(207) 444-5556

John.Martin@legislature.maine.gov

 

Representative Aaron M. Frey (D-Bangor)

(207) 249-9969

Aaron.Frey@legislature.maine.gov

 

Representative Erik C. Jorgensen (D-Portland)

(207) 939-7120

Erik.Jorgensen@legislature.maine.gov

 

Representative Brian L. Hubbell (D-Bar Harbor)

(207) 288-3947

Brian.Hubbell@legislature.maine.gov

 

Representative Denise A. Tepler (D-Topsham)

(207) 729-4018

Denise.Tepler@legislature.maine.gov

 

Representative Tom J. Winsor (R-Norway)

(207) 754-3678

Tom.Winsor@legislature.maine.gov

 

Representative Heather W. Sirocki (R-Scarborough)

(207) 730-6602

Heather.Sirocki@legislature.maine.gov

 

Representative Jeffrey L. Timberlake (R-Turner)

(207) 754-6000

Jeffrey.Timberlake@legislature.maine.gov

 

Representative H. Stedman Seavey (R-Kennebunkport)

(207) 590-1597

Stedman.Seavey@legislature.maine.gov

 

 

Here is a Sample Follow-up Email for Senators Hamper & Katz (feel free to copy & paste! just add in your details)

Dear Senator (INSERT Hamper or Katz),

As a Maine resident and an advocate for the (INSERT CONDITION) community, I respectfully request that you and members of the Joint Standing Committee on Appropriations and Financial Affairs, exempt LD1407 from the table as the fiscal note identifies no general fund appropriation.

LD 1407 improves the one-size-fits-all application of step therapy protocols, which can require the use of a specific medicine without knowing the patient’s medical history. Under step therapy, a patient may be required to try – and then fail – on one or more medications before being granted coverage for the drug originally prescribed by the patient’s health care provider.

While insurance companies tout step therapy as a way to control costs, this practice may do more harm than good. For those of us living with serious or chronic conditions, this delay in access to the right treatment can result in increased disease activity, loss of function, and possible irreversible disease progression.

LD1407 does not prohibit insurers from using step therapy or require insurers to cover any specific medication. Accordingly, the fiscal office has been unable to identify a fiscal impact which would require a general fund allocation. That lack of funding requirement proves that the bill strikes the right balance between cost containment and patient needs.

Mainers can no longer wait for the patient protections provided by LD1407 and we ask that you please prioritize passage of this important legislation. In doing so, Maine will join the growing list of over a dozen states that have enacted similar legislation including Connecticut, New Mexico, New York, and Texas.

Thank you for your consideration of this critical piece of legislation.

Sincerely,

image2.png